A New Adventure: The Nomadic Farmer

If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.
-Henry David Thoreau

I’ve been absent, but not without a good story. A little over a month ago I quit my job to take on a new and exciting journey. Just last week I was sitting at my desk doing fundraising and marketing for a nonprofit conservation organization. Today I am writing this blog post from an upstairs bedroom in an old farmhouse in Atlantic, Iowa. The windows are open and a breeze is moving across the room. I have scrapes on my arms from weeding in the raspberry patch this morning.

I’m free.

Working a desk job every day was really starting to weigh me down. When I looked at the people sitting across the desk from me every day I began to realize that I didn’t want to be a fundraiser. I had no interest in sitting in that boss chair. Thoughts started to resurface, things I’d been trying to push out of my mind since I was a senior in high school.

What about farming? Maybe I would like that. 

It always seemed like a pipe dream. Inaccessible. Stupid. But then the week I quit my job I got an email alert from the Women, Food, and Ag Network saying they were looking for fall farming interns. I applied, and in the three weeks I was absent from this blog I found out I was getting placed somewhere, found out my placement, talked to my mentor on the phone and agreed to move to Atlantic on Monday, August 18 for two months.

Rolling Acres Farm in Atlantic, Iowa, where i'm spending my time these day.

Rolling Acres Farm in Atlantic, Iowa, where i’m spending my time these day.

So this is what I do now. I’m a writer and a farmer-in-training. I’m planning on applying to similar programs across the country for the next year. In addition to learning more about farming, I also want to interview farmers and educate readers on not only agriculture, but traveling through farming programs. I’m writing about all of this at The Nomadic Farmer. I hope you’ll join me over there.

I plan to continue Modern Girl Walden as my nature journal and blog, and hope to be sharing more nature inspired posts very soon!

Want to see more of what I’ve been up to? Check out my new post, Vegetables Aren’t a Thing: My Rough Relationship with Tomatoes. 

5 thoughts on “A New Adventure: The Nomadic Farmer

  1. Wow! This is really amazing getting away from a desk job and being free! You are living what most people out there only dream of.. Good luck! 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks so much! It’s weird, it was one of the hardest and easiest decisions I’ve ever made. 🙂 Of course I say that now, it was pretty hard at the time.

Leave a Reply

