The Modern Girl Walden Minimalism Challenge

minimalism challenge

Photo Credit 55Laney69

I have decided to make an official commitment to move towards a more minimalist lifestyle. I’ve wanted to do this for a few months, but always come up with excuses. Oh but I really need this book or But this dress looks so good on me. No more. No more mindless wandering around Target looking for something to buy as a pick me up. No more running to the record store after a bad day at work. Stuff will not make me happy. I will make me happy. And I’m going to start by breaking my relationship with stuff.

Over the last two months I have already cut back on shopping a lot. I find that spending time in nature fulfills me more than shopping ever did or will. It’s so easy to succumb to peer pressure, magazine ads and your own desires. Before you know it you have more stuff than you can keep track of, and for what?

Nothing, really.

During the next six months I am only allowed to spend money on the following:

  1. Things I consume, like food and drinks. (Also includes things like dog food and laundry detergent)
  2. Things I grow, like crops, plants and mulch.
  3. Materials, like wood and nails.
  4. Tickets for events, like concerts and festivals.
  5. Lodging and gas. (Camping fees, hotel rooms, gas etc.)
  6. Bills. (cell phone, car, Spotify, Netflix)

If I want a book or a magazine I will go to the library. If I want to watch a movie it has to be something I own or something I can watch on Netflix. If I want new clothes… Tough.

I will also get rid of at least 25 percent of my belongings in the following areas:

  1. Clothing & Shoes
  2. Books & Movies
  3. Kitchen
  4. Bathroom
  5. Games
  6. Miscellaneous Junk

In addition to these rules, I’m going to be introducing one new minimalist challenge during each of the six months I do this challenge. I will announce these mini-challenges on the 1st of every month.

Here are some resources I’m using to help me through (and help me stay sane) during this journey:

This may not seem like a radical lifestyle change, especially if you’re already a practicing minimalist, but we all have to start somewhere. I’m unofficially starting this now and officially starting on June 1. 

If you’re interested in joining in on this challenge and following along with me, please sign up for my email list here. I promise not to spam you, and will only send you one, minimal email every other week full of tips and ideas from along the way. Not convinced? Here are three reasons you should consider signing up for the list:

  1. Exclusive content about my minimalist journey.
  2. Accountability and support: Bi-weekly reminders will help keep you on track.
  3. Access to the best ideas and tips I pick up along the way.

Sign up for the challenge here.

6 thoughts on “The Modern Girl Walden Minimalism Challenge

  1. I live a minimalist lifestyle as a result of my OCD and as annoying as it can be, the way I’m compulsive about it, I actually love it.

    • That’s awesome! I think it’s going to be a hard transition for me but worth it in the end.

  2. Welcome to the other side of the fence.

    You’ll find it tough at sometimes, exhilarating at others, horrible at others and good at others. But it’ll be magical all the while. And will be worth it. 🙂

    I am glad to find another Minimalist in this journey!

    Would love a feedback from fellow minimalist on my blog about Minimalism and simplicity!

    Glad to have stumbled upon your blog.

    Keep minimizing. 🙂

    Cheers.

    Best,

    Hardik
    http://thatindianminimalist.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for visiting Hardik! I will have to come running to you when I’m ready to throw the towel in. 🙂

  3. Pingback: What Becoming a Runner Taught Me About Minimalism | Modern Girl Walden

  4. Pingback: Managing Interests in a Minimal Way | Modern Girl Walden

Leave a Reply

